Urban Foraging – Some Links

So things are kind of wild around my place just now.
As such, for the moment, I’m just going to hand you a couple of links talking about urban foraging.

My garden is kind of suffering at the moment. I’ve been throwing eggshells into my various large planters, in the hopes of giving my sqaush, tomatoes, and beans a bit of a calcium boost, but it doesn’t seem to be working. (Next year, I’ll be adding a healthy dose of bone meal to all my large planters, going with a bush-delicata squash (only one, I suspect), and inter-planting the squash with the beans).

In the next few days, I’ll be collecting choke cherries and wild grapes (apples will come later, I think, though if I had a ladder, I could probably snag some from the tree around the corner right now), as well as harvesting the radishes from my balcony garden (I want to try pickling a bunch of them, if I can). For now, though, I’m going to take a walk over to Arts Court to check out their Will Work For Food art garden, to see what’s going on over there.

Beyond that, have some links!

Foraging for Wild Berries in the City (Toronto)

Urban Foraging and Guerilla Gardening (Location Unknown)

At Vacant Homes, Foraging for Fruit (Atlanta)

– TTFN,
– Meliad, the Birch Maiden

Leave a Reply

