Solar Powered Pagans

Thank the gods for a sunny day.

We woke up this morning and saw the moon, this pale sliver hanging in the fading dark on the eastern cheek of morning.

… Which is a very pretty mental image and all, but what I’m actually talking about is the fact that the sky is clear for the first time in ages. Sure, I can see clouds to the south of me, and the sky isn’t outright empty. But the sun is up and out and that makes getting through the day so much easier.

A friend of mine used to joke about being a “solar powered Pagan” – the joke, of course, being that we’re all supposed to be lunar-powered Creatures of the Night, out dancing with the fairies and meeting clandestinely and so-on. With, perhaps, a side-order of Gothity for added bonus points. 😉

But me? I actually am a solar-powered Pagan. Now that the days are noticeably shorter than the nights, I’m finding it harder and harder to drag myself out of bed by 7am, whereas back in Summer, I was up at 5:45 with no trouble. By the time the sun is fully down, I’m ready to curl up in bed. It’s getting to the point where my young lady and I are shopping around for one of those SAD lamps to help us wake up every day.

Do you find that this happens to you? The more you pay attention to the natural rhythms around you, the more they affect your day-to-day life?

Drop me a comment and let me know.

Cheers,
Meliad, the Birch Maiden.

Leave a Reply

