Finding Pagan Stories in Unexpected Places

It’s a half-moon today, My Lady of the night (and day) wears two faces.

Heh.

I read a lot of Terry Pratchett. Nowhere near as much as I used to, granted, but still. A lot. His Witch Books (part of the Discworld series) actually had a bit of a hand in helping me to articulate my own worldview.

I remember being asked, unexpectedly, by a stranger to point her in the direction of books on kitchen witchery. I, being very much of the intuitive school of both cooking and magic, didn’t suggest much in the way of spell-craft and, instead, pointed her towards The Wee Free Men, a YA/kids’ book that had so hit my personal nail on the head in terms of relating to one’s Land and using what one’s got that I actually sobbed when I read it.

A friend of mine was more than a little horrified that I’d sent this person to fiction, but I stand by my choice. I’m enough of a DIY Pagan (okay, I’m pretty-much entirely a DIY Pagan) that books about kitchen-witchcraft that are heavily influenced by Wicca and which, more to the point, involve a certain better-homes-and-covens kind of vibe… kind of make me twitch. The don’t typically go into the emotional/spiritual side of kitchen witchcraft and, instead, treat is as, well, surface stuff. On-the-fly spells and recipes that, while they may contain sabbat-significant ingredients, don’t actually touch on their significance (because that’s all stuff you get from the Wicca – or which ever – books, right?). So fiction – which is all about stories and motivation and head-space (of the charcters, definitely, but also – to a point – of the readers) – is actually a pretty handy place to turn if you’re looking for mythology[1]. (Honestly, I think that’s a big part of why the Heralds of Valdemar series did/does so well. It’s horse stories for teenagers, but with added magic and polytheism).

Anyway. Wee Free Men is pretty faboo as far as I’m concerned. If you’re looking for something to read in an afternoon, or have an eight year old who you’d like to gently introduce to a Pagan worldview without clocking them over the head with it, I’d recommend this one.

That’s my prattle for today.

TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.

[1] As in: Stories that articulate and confirm your worldview and/or value-system.

Leave a Reply

