A Running Start at Winter

The days are growing shorter and the nights are growing colder and I want nothing more than to hunker down with my sweetie, and maybe a mug of hot chocolate, and just hibernate through the coming winter.
Instead, everything is ramping up into high (or at least higher) gear. Trying to get a book manuscript started (and finished) this month; working on craft projects (knitting, making a new jewelry collection based on the Local Lunar Months, and potentially working a craft show – selling soap and candles, for the most part – even though I wasn’t planning on it); getting my hands further into the Rainbow Health outreach work I’m doing; and working more art classes, it seems, than I can shake a stick at…
I feel worn out, and it’s all barely beginning. O.O

I think we – as a secular-but-xian-influenced culture – do this every year, though. We take a big running start at the Winter, baking and gifting and socializing for the better part of two months and then hoping we make it through the remaining four months of cold, dreary, and draining. Sometimes it feels like we need to slow the hell down, stretch the “holiday season” out to cover all of the winter, so that there’s always something more to look forward to, but it’s not nearly so frenzied in the doing of everything because we have more time to do it in. Other times, it feels like we need that big, extravagant running start in order to coast the rest of the way through ’til spring, floating ourselves on the memory of heat and excess and blazing light while we wait out the grey and the grim.

I don’t know. I suspect I’ll be musing further on this as Winter starts creeping in for real, and I’m spending more time curled up in my writing chair.

For now, though, I need to get going.

TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden

Leave a Reply

