Come Hither Offerings and Other Acts of Magic

So I’m reading a book right now called Sub Rosa. I’m reading it because the author is going to feature at the monthly spoken-word/live-lit show I run and I figured that was the excuse I need to go out and buy myself a copy.

Why I’m talking about this here instead of over on the (not nearly as hopping) Voices of Venus blog, however, is because it’s a Magical Realism book. A book that involves magic, parallel worlds and, more to the point, offerings.

In this case, we’re talking offerings of lipstick, earrings, general small-scale trappings of femininity, offered to the patch of street where a group of sex workers make their living.

I think this is really cool. Like slipping five bucks under the welcome-mat of your restaurant or massage parlour to attract good luck and good, recurring, customers; or dropping a toonie into your sugar-canister as come-hither money[1].

In this case, the offerings are meant as both a thank-you and a keep-it-coming to the strip. In my case, this is very much how my offerings work, too. They are both a means of saying Thank You to my household deities and spirits and my ancestors and also a way of saying “FYI, I also could use some help with X, if you can swing it” without just being completely whiny and demanding. Consequently, the offerings made in this novel are resonating with me a little bit.

Anyway. That’s kind of what I’m thinking about just now. Do any of you do offerings or money-magic in your day-to-day lives?

TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.

[1] Like making a honey-pot, but a little more passive-receptive (as opposed to actively calling) and without all the extra ingredients. If you keep your sugar in a 2kg canister – as opposed to, say, a bag or a bowl – all you do is wait ’til it gets low, drop in the biggest coin available (in Canada, for those reading from abroad, that’s a $2-coin), and then top up your tin with sugar. Add incantations if you so desire. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

