Inspiration Everywhere – DIY Food (from the ground up)

Today I’m making bread. It’s currently at the “chef” stage and is about to have oil, salt, egg(s), cream (or milk), and a little bit of flour thrown in all at once in order to get on its way to being a “sponge” (and then, eventually, a dough).

In the other room, my beloved is talking to one of her other partners[1] about the concept of “do no harm” – in the Jain sense, the Buddhist sense, the Pagan sense, and how that concept relates to one’s dietary choices.

I’ve been reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal Vegetable Miracle (again), because I love it so, and because – in a year or two (working on a different book right now, thanks) – I want to write a book similar to this one about local food in my (micro) bio-region.
Not surprisingly, I find this book inspiring on a number of levels.

As I may have said here before (although, surprisingly, I can seem to find I post where I stated it in so many words), I dream of having a “little house in the country… in the city”.
I’d happily take up residence on the Experimental Farm (most likely on the Dows Lake side of the Arboretum — although there’d be some judicious tree-felling involved if I were actually to do that) if it meant I could farm (in a small scale way) 2-3 acres of land while still being able to walk to the down-town homes of my friends and extended phamily.

As it stands, I’m making due with the stuff I can grow on my balcony, harvest from local trees, and/or pick up from the (rather appallingly small) Foodland Ontario section of the grocery store. But I have big dreams, my dears and, though it’s surely taking a LOT of tiny steps to get there, I’m on my way to achieving them. 🙂

TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.

[1] Open relationships for the win! 🙂

One response to “Inspiration Everywhere – DIY Food (from the ground up)

  1. Pingback: Hidden Harvest Ottawa! :-D | Urban Meliad

Leave a Reply

