Spring Cleaning – Religious Edition

Today I cleaned my altars.
This is a fairly big deal, as I tend to leave everything undusted for months at a time, even my desk coffee table and so-on (if anyone is horrified, please keep it to yourself). So that I did the Dusting today is kind of big for me.

I cleaned off the altars. I haven’t done fresh candles – and won’t, til the current bunch are used up (home-made beeswax candles – I’m not wasting them by switching them out mid-way through a burn). None the less, the vase of crow feathers has been fluffed and told how pretty they are, and everyone’s had the dust cleaned off. I’ve given my ancestors a Hello, and have done a (small) boiled water offering (for the first – and, knowing me, probably last (I’m not expecting to change up that habit any time soon, so I’m not making anyone false promises) – time in ages). I’m debating doing incense. On the one hand, it’s not going to hurt and will probably do a bang-up job in helping to sweep out the last of the grumblies that have been hanging around. On the other hand, I don’t want to light up smoke for everyone (everyone has a separate altar, which means the smoke in our one-bedroom apartment can get a little heavy if I offer to everyone at once)… so I may just opt for (a) one stick in the kitchen (she could do with some attention, I think), and maybe one in the bedroom, and have the door open to the balcony to let the spring air in.

None the less. I have clean altars. And I feel rather pleased about that.
I hope my Girls like it, too. 🙂

Now to muck about with some sigil stuff, and to come up with a list of Things Not To Do when writing a novel (so that I don’t do the things that drive me nuts in other people’s work). Wish me luck! 🙂

5 responses to “Spring Cleaning – Religious Edition

  1. If I may ask, what exactly is a boiled water offering? It sounds delightfully simple but I’ve never heard of it before.

    • Hey,

      Thanks for asking. 🙂

      It’s exactly what it sounds like. Boil a pot of water on the stove (doesn’t have to be a big pot at all), acknowledge your gods/ancestors/guides/neighbours/etc, and pour it out for them. I pour mine down the sink, but I think you could do it where-ever. 🙂
      My Lady of the Kitchen asked for it, but everyone seems to like it. (I think the offering is as much in the time and the required attentiveness, as it is in the actual water, but I could be wrong).

      • sonneillonv

        Thanks! That does sound delightfully simple, and now that you’ve explained it, I’m suddenly coming up with all kinds of home-consecrating applications that are low-fuss and low mess. ^_^

      • Yeah. Low mess, low fuss is a Big Thing around here.

        If you’ve got one of those tea-ball things, they can be good for infusing wash-water with herbal magic. (Tea bags work, too, but it’s hard to find pre-fab teabags of, say, mullien or cedar in the grocery store).

        Fill your tea-ball with dried rosemary/lavender/cedar/whatever, then let it steep in your bath or your mop-bucket (pre-soap), before you use it. Done! And you don’t end up with bits of herb stuck to your tub/floor/threshold/etc.

        Everybody wins! 😀

  2. Or dilute your blessed water with white vinegar and use it for an eco-friendly cleanser around the house. ^_^

Leave a Reply

