Planting the Garden (part one)

Hey!

So I planted my first seeds today. I’ve got “Bright Lights” rainbow chard seeds, and I planted three (deliberately – I also managed to accidentally spill another three or four) in one of my balcony rubbermaid containers, along with about two litres of water. In theory, they’ll sprout in about a week, week-and-a-half, and then I can start cutting the greens in early June.

YAY! 😀

I planted so few in my bucket because I don’t want to over-crowd them. None the less, I’m glad that I spilled in a few extra, because that gives me a better chance of getting a few good, strong plants out of the bunch (I think).

I may or may not plant some scarlet runner beans in with them. They’d look great together, and the nitrogen fixed by the beans will help feed the leafy greens of the chard, while the chard will eat up the nitrogen and maybe (maybe) mean that my beans actually produce, y’know, beans this year. 😉

At least this is my hope. 🙂

In further news: The local (as in “down the street from me”) fiddleheads are coming up – and getting way past “up” – in my neighbours’ gardens. BUT I haven’t seen ANY in my local grocery store. I think I’m looking in the wrong place, and should maybe check the more posh store in the Glebe (rather than the “import everything from Texas” place I usually go to), and see if they have any in.

Anyway. That’s where I’m at. In another couple of weeks, I’ll pick up some already-sprouted cucumber and cherry tomato plants, and put them into the other buckets, and then we’ll see about window boxes full of flowers and herbs (and sneaking winter squash into the traffic-calming islands up the street… ;-))

Wish me luck! 😀

TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.

Leave a Reply

