Internal Landscape (Trance attempt #1).

So, in typical and perhaps foolish fashion, I tried doing some Going Under while in my bath.

I used a technique for (in theory?) going into trance space that I learned at the local Pagan Schola –> Basically you imagine taking an elevator down through seven or so layers, each one a different colour of the rainbow (you start with red and go down to purple). Then you get out of the elevator, and you’re in your home base.

I my case, I closed my eyes and let my bathtub sink down through those seven layers (I saw my friendly water spirits at the green/heart level. That was nice. I hope I saw them true, and that they really are there and happy to see me be recognized as present. I also saw a Thai Budha in around Indigo, but I’m not sure that’s relevant or just some blip my brain threw up while I was moving). Eventually, my tub landed.
 
So. My internal landscape is. Maybe not all that surprising.
I landed on a hill – hard-packed earth with the grass and clover and similar growing on it (or, well, rooted in it), that looked like it was only about 3-4 weeks past the snow buggering off. It wasn’t cold – not warm, I was glad for the sweater thing I appeared to be wearing, but also no cold. It looked like the earth had been hibernating, right there, for a while though.
 
I climbed out of the tub (which is now dry and, fyi, I’m dressed) and looked to the west. It was edging towards sunset, so that’s how I knew (apparently). There’s a big river there. Wouldn’t be surprised if it was the Ottawa, to be honest. The area kind of reminded me of Britania. Anyway. Big river. Forest on the opposite side. River wraps around the land to the north and south, but I’m not on an island (at least not by the looks of things).
There’s a little town – with a big steeple in it(?) – to the north-west, right on the edge of the water. And then there’s forest[1]. To the East, north-east, and south-east. So where I’m standing in the meadow/transitional land between forest and shore.
Okay.
 
That’s basically the gist of it.
 
Since this was basically a preliminary fact-finding mission, I wasn’t going to stick around very long. But it did (thank goodness) occur to me that maybe, y’know, it might be good to make some sort of offeratory gesture while I was there. Since I’d be coming back and all[2]. So I pulled out my water bottle (a green nalgene bottle that I’ve basically taken over from Ghost, of all things), unscrewed the lid, and did a wee libation and (I think, I hope?) said Thanks.
And a flower popped up where I’d spilled the water.
 
There was no puddle or anything, it soaked right in. And then this delicate, long-stemmed pink wild flower[3] just lifted up its head and opened right up.
I said Hi, and told it (her?) that I’d be back.
So I will have to go back now, because (in theory) someone is expecting me there.
 
After that, I got back in my tub and rode the colourful elevator back up through the colours. I winked at the budha (or maybe zi winked at me?), waved to the water spirits and told them I was happy to see them and glad they were here and that I’d swing by again when I came this way.
 
Eventually, I was back to myself. I used the grounding technique mentioned at this Emotional First Aid site to make sure I was fully back, and then proceeded to say Thank You to everybody and finish my bath with general maintenance. 🙂
 
 
And that’s my story.
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad.
 
 
[1] Once, at the suggestion of Miss Sugar, I did a similar exercise wherein I went to find my Internal House. My internal house, apparently, lives under the roots of a big old tree (deciduous, but not actually sure what kind. Not birch, funily enough. Potentially poplar or willow, though. It had the right kind of bark, even in the dark). As such, I suspect that I can follow a path from the house to the hill and back again, if I go looking for one. Granted, that remains to be seen.
 
[2] Given that this is my internal home-base/landing-strip – meaning part of myself as much as it’s anything else – I’m not actually sure what that means. Although if it means I just made an offering to myself, my own holy place, something like that… good? Can’t hurt, anyway. 🙂
 
[3] Near as I can tell, this is probably a wild geranium. It might be something else (maybe a mallow or a super-pale version of rose campion?), but Wild Geranium looks… pretty close. It’s got the right kind of seed heads and is the right colour, and it turns out that it’s native to the area where I live (and where my internal landscape looks to be situated). So… for now, that’s the guess I’m making.
 
 

Wild Geranium. 🙂

9 responses to “Internal Landscape (Trance attempt #1).

  1. This makes me miss meditating. I have been so busy and unhappy and crowded that I haven’t felt like I deserve to focus on myself like that.

    • Er… Wouldn’t busy, unhappy and crowded mean that you DO deserve (and kind of need) to focus on yourself like that?
      It would probably do you good. 🙂

      • I feel too guilty and ashamed of being unemployed to work on myself; I just want to hurt myself, or then be numb or hide away. I think if I did manage to punish myself to my own satisfaction I might feel absolved and be able to go on from there.

      • Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand I’m sending you an email about this.

  2. Pingback: B is Boundaries and Balancing (and Baths) – Pagan Blog Project | Urban Meliad

  3. Hmmm…interesting post. We’ve used the elevator technique many times ourselves over the years, for all manner of meditations and pathworkings. Not just using the colours, but also for Tarot landscapes, astral plane models and the tree of life. It does yield results for us too, sometimes gentle, sometimes, dynamic.

    • Using it with different landscapes, as you’ve done, sounds like a way of getting a headstart on a journey. Like if you were going after specific information or to meet specific people/People, you could theme your elevator ride to move you from a familiar-to-you landscape/element/plane through to a landscape/element/plane where that which/whom you were looking for would be more likley to hang out.
      I’m guessing here, mind you.

      I’m glad it works for you. 🙂

  4. Pingback: F is for Fantasy (versus Reality) – Pagan Blog Project 2013 | Urban Meliad

  5. Pingback: T is for Trepedation (and Trust – or lack there-of) – Pagan Blog Project 2013 | Urban Meliad

Leave a Reply

