Dark Chocolate Cherry Brownies (a recipe using preserves)

Hey there!
 
So, I finally got around to opening the sour-cherry jam that I made in July 2011. I opened it specifically to use in baked goods.
My original plan, such as it was, had been to mix it with a little egg and/or corn starch and set it up as cherry tarts. Which would have been pretty awesome in and of themselves. But I decided to do something else instead (something that only used 1/4 of the jam – so I’ve got lots left for tarts or anything else I’m inclined to create).
 
See, I have a wee bag of dried cherries sitting in my cupboard, and I thought it might be nice to make a cherry chocolate-chip cookie with them… and then I thought “Why not brownies, instead?” and, from there, I decided that instead of using the full sugar requirement for brownines plus the dried cherries, that I would, instead, substitute out half the sugar for the cherry jam that I’ve been looking for an excuse to use. 😀
 
I just pulled them out of the oven, and they smell magnificent. Here’s the recipe. 🙂
 
~*~
 
Dark-Chocolate Cherry Brownies
 
INGREDIENTS
 
0.5 C margarine
0.5 C cherry jam
2 eggs
0.25 C plain yoghurt (vanilla yoghurt or cherry yoghurt will also work)
1 tbsp vanilla
 
0.5 C flour
0.5 C cocoa
0.3 C granulated sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
0.5 tsp salt
 
0.3 C semi-sweet chocolate chips
 
 
DIRECTIONS
 
1) Preheat oven t 375F
 
2) Mix all the dry ingredients (except the chocolate chips) in a large bowl
 
3) Mix all the wet ingredients in a medium-sized bowl, until they are well-creamed together (although, honestly, I just mashed everything together with a fork, and it appears to have worked out fine)
 
4) Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and blend until everything is well-incorporated and there are no (obvious) dry spots
 
5) Add the chocolate chips and mix in thoroughly
 
6) Grease a large baking pan (~12″x8″, maybe)
 
7) Scrape the batter into the greased pan. It will not cover the entire bottom of the dish, but this is okay as it will expand quite a bit while baking.
 
8) Bake for about half an hour (maybe a little more). Follow your nose on this one, folks. When it smells done, take it out of the oven and stick a fork in it. If the fork comes out clean (no wet batter clinging to it), it’s done. YAY!
 
9) Allow to cool (partly this is so all the melted chocolate has a chance to go back to being at least slightly solid, which will help keep things from crumbling, in-so-far as that’s possible)
 
10) Serve with coffee, ice cream, cherry cordial, or whatever your heart desires, and enjoy. 😀
 
~*~
 
 
And there you go. 😀
I hope you have a good time with my recipe.
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden. 🙂

One response to “Dark Chocolate Cherry Brownies (a recipe using preserves)

  1. Pingback: All Purpose Fruit-Preserves Cake (recipe) | Urban Meliad

Leave a Reply

