G is for Glamour – Pagan Blog Project 2013

Hey, kiddies.
So I’m still running behind on my PBP13 posts. Bear with me.
 
I’m femme. Which, in my case, means that I’m a woman who finds her power through her femininity (among a whole wack of other things). To this end, glamour – as in “the art of using appearances to manifest what you want” (also among other things) – is something with-which I’ve been consciously familiar for a long-ass time.
 
Of course, I’ve also worked in retail, read “women’s magazines”, and taken a modeling course when I was a kid. I get that “glamour” is frequently re-defined as “how to look the way other people want you to look” – which can breed a lot of frustration and resentment in people who are trying to do it and wondering how the hell this is supposed to be a powerful act of magic.
Rather than that, though, I think Glamour can be defined as “how to use how you look in order to get people to see what you want them to see”… Which is a much more you-focused, empowering, and, as far as I’m concerned, accurate way of understanding it.
 
To a point, of course, you are stuck using the tropes of your own culture to those ends. Magic works through symbol sets, right? So use the ones that are already at work in your culture.
Applying for a facilitator’s job at your local queer community center? Figure out what clothes will make you feel Fabulous – and give a nod to your dykenicity[1] – while also showing your future employer that you’re competent and take your future job seriously[2]. Going to a Gala and hoping to get noticed? Figure out what cut of suit/dress/whatever will suit your comfort zone and flatter your body and wear a perfume or cologne that makes you feel Worth Noticing. Selling your house? Declutter to the point that things actually look sparse, then boil some vanilla and cinnamon together (or bake some bread. Or microve some already-baked bread from a grocery store) and open all the curtains as wide as they’ll go. Add flowers. Arrange the furniture in a way that hints at a life of leisure, even if you don’t have one.
 
“But Meliad!” I hear you cry. “What the hell does any of this stuff have to do with actual magic???”
Which, frankly, is a fair fucking question. The examples I gave, above, don’t (strictly speaking) have anything to do with spellcraft, sorcery, or anything else I’m likely to be discussing on this blog. Where every-day “dressing for success” pushes its way into magical territory is when you start adding the energetic elements that lead to creating change at will.
 
That perfume that makes you feel Worth Noticing? Charge the whole bottle so that it actualls calls positive attention to you. Alternatively, mix your own oils (try charging a sweet almond carrier oil infused with cinnamon, bay, and vetiver for a spicy, enigmatic scent that, incidentally, will also draw money, prosperity, and good fortune (and protection) to its wearer), or steep those same herbs in a litre of hot water in order to make a super-strong tea that can be used (NOT internally – I don’t know if vetiver is safe to ingest) as a floor-wash to the same ends.
I’ve enchanted my hand-soap (because it’s something we use every day) for marital bliss, great sex, and prosperity. I have a bottle of wine[3] marinating on one of my altars for use as a ritual drink to kick off a new chapter of my career. I sewed blessings and long-lasting love into the skirt I hand-stitched for my wife to wear at our wedding. When I wear my “Blood Kiss” (BPAL) perfume, I am literally wearing sex appeal, mystique, and dominant-lady self assurance in an olfactory (and highly effective) form.
 
These are just some few of the ways in which you can enchant via glamour. If you’re looking for some more formal ways of doing this, you can give Miss Sugar’s book a go or check out the glamour-related posts on her blog.
 
In my case (in my practice?) I’m trying to incorporate a little more glamour into my day-to-day workings. Some of it is literally just Making the Effort – learning how to do “volume” with my hair (hint: more hairspray than was encompassed by the entire decade of the ’80s); paying attention to how I dress when I leave the house (mascara, clean hair, clothese that fit) and investing (on the rare occasions when it’s possible to do so) in shoes that will let me Make an outfit (and take it from frumpy to glam/elegant) without too much trouble; trying out a new Look (hehe: it took my own lovely wife a few minutes to realize it was me, so clearly it worked); that sort of thing. But I’ve also actually bothered to invest in a couple of tiny glasses to be used for (a) drinking sortilege[4], but also (b) making offerings in; bothered to charge those toiletry products; bothered to infuse and enjoy ritual baths. And all of those things make a difference.
 
And that’s my post on Glamour.
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.
 
 
[1] Which doesn’t necessarily mean brill cream and a bow tie, kiddies. See above, re: Femme.
 
[2] Look. I know that a suit that fits is (a) hard to find, (b) frequently frumpy and boring anyway, and (c) not actually appropriate for all situations. So your “interview clothes” don’t have to be a suit. Coordinating separates will the do the same thing, while also giving you a greater chance to show off your individuality and ability to think outside the box, in almost (almost) every situation.
 
[3] Sadly, while their “Love Potion” pink sparkling wine sounds lovely and delightful and totally worth hunting up, their “Truth” white wine sounds… boring and a little too light for my tastes. Truth is as intense, complicated, and unapologetic as Daring, and I think that, even in a gimicky white wine, this should be reflected and acknowledged. (So there). It’s too bad that this one won’t hit all the right notes – alas – because it could have potentially worked for a different but related ritual involving a different deity. 🙂
 
[4] My Canadian version of Terre D’Ange’s “Joie”, yes, but also the toasting drink that we went with for our wedding reception and, fyi, a beverage whose very name means “enchantment”. 😀

2 responses to “G is for Glamour – Pagan Blog Project 2013

  1. I totally know what you mean about magic. Making yourself feel different and cultivating an atmosphere and mood are magic; they work a change.

    I am sad about clothing and representation myself, today. I’m going to have to buy more clothes soon.

  2. Pingback: G is for Glamour – Pagan Blog Project 2014 | Urban Meliad

Leave a Reply

