Gratitude and Local Food (the very, very first fruits of the season)

Today I picked wild dandelion greens (and, I suspect, some garlic mustard) for the first time this year. They’ll probably wind up in dinner tomorrow night – along with, most likely, baby potatoes, tinned tuna, cherry tomatoes (if we have any left), and hard boiled eggs, since we’re hitting up the Museum of Nature for an exhibit (follow the link) that is wrapping up its run this weekend and tomorrow is Free Night (4pm-8pm).
 
I have a loaf of bread just gone into the oven, and my altars are lit (finally). I’ve got the window open, and the sweet (literally sweet, I have no idea why) air, pregnant with rain, is floating into the house, airing it out and filling it up at once.
I suspect we’ll have a heavy rain-fall tonight, which wouldn’t be a bad thing at all (although it will probably spill a lot of magnolia petals onto the ground, and that’ll be too bad. That said, the magnolias are early in their blooming yet and have lots of buds still left to open. Not the end of the world).
 
In all honesty, I’m sitting here, more than ready to crawl into bed, but not entirely wanting to go yet (besides, I’ve got an hour left on the bread, and probably at least that long on the candles, so I need to stay up for a while longer if I don’t want to risk burning the place down on multiple fronts. I’m also eating up the last of the previous loaf of bread (oh, the hardship) so that we don’t wind up with random, unused heels of bread just lying around the house. (I tend to make one loaf at a time, partially because we don’t have much freezer space and, related to this, I don’t want to run the risk of having my second loaf go bad before we’re able to finish it. Fresh bread from the oven may be fantastic, but if you’re just not feeling it with sandwiches and toast, you – or at least I – can wind up with a situation where two loaves are one loaf too many).
 
I’ve been reading The Omnivore’s Dilema again. At this point, I don’t ever read the whole thing. I skip over Industrial Food and Big Organic and just read the bits about Polyface Farm (Joel seems a bit of a full-of-himself twerp, but I like how he farms, so there you go) and The Forest. I like that part the best, it’s so full of grace, of a very pagan-feeling wonder and gratitude to the rest of the world for feeding us. And here I am, once again on the cusp of summer, feeling that same gratitude welling up as I’m picking dandelions by the bike path and turning yeast, water, sugar, salt, oil, and (for the most part) flour into bread.
 
Thank you to Mother and Daughter for your kindness, your bounty, and your grace. 🙂
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.

Leave a Reply

