I is for Intentions and Interventions – Pagan Blog Project 2013

I’m writing this early, on Beltain, as it happens, while my wife and her girlfriend are out having some together-time that doesn’t involve me or my kitchen.
I’m enjoying the fresh, sweet smell of rain-about-to-come and temperatures that are down right summery on this first night of May (alas, I doubt there will be any rights of spring tonight, as we’ll probably be three to the bed, but oh well), and I’m thinking about how I manage my time.
 
“Time management??” I hear you ask (maybe that’s just me, but I’d be asking about it). “What does that have to do with paganism???”
 
Well. Morpheus Ravena, over at Banshee Arts, has a post (from back in January) about making and keeping commitments and how that affects the strength of one’s will and one’s word. I’ve linked to this post before, and this is a bit in the same vein.
 
The way I figure it, if I want my life to look more like my Ideal Day, there are some things I have to (face the music and) cut out of my day. Or at least significantly reduce.
Yeah.
I’m talking about the Internet. O.O
 
I spend a lot of time online. A lot. Some of this is for work-related reasons like email, event promotion, my long-distance leadership course, my (sorely neglected) Etsy store, hustling for modeling work, and my citrix account (through which I do some big parts of my outreach job). Some of it is for blogging (which lives in a nebulous place between “fun” and “‘work’, in the sense of ‘something I’ve committed to doing'”). And some of it is straight up fun – mostly reading other blogs (educational as that may be) and checking up on facebook and live journal. Twitter is peppered through there, falling between “fun” and “work-related” and mostly just eating a lot of minutes over the course of a work-from-home day.
 
Based on various points (in the past four years) when I’ve had no at-home internet access, I know that I can get most of the work-related stuff done in a daily two-hour window[1]. It’s stressful. I won’t lie. It’s usually a race against the clock, and it typically means that I lose a lot of “social life” interaction because I’m prioritizing the “work related” online stuff over the social online stuff[2]. But it still means that I only *need* two hours online per day to get all my online-related work done.
 
So. I figure: If I want to make the time to do things like write my novel, study trance work, and generally do All The Things that I’m regularly hard-pressed to find the time to do… I’ll need to turn off the internet.
 
No. Not turn it off permanently. I don’t have any intention of cutting off my access completely, let alone forcing that situation onto my wife (owner or not, that would be seriously mean of me). But I can start unplugging my modem during most of my working day, and plugging it back in during the last hour or two before my wife typically gets home from her own workday. That way, while I’m not cutting off her internet, I’m significantly limiting mine to, I suspect, better effect over-all.
 
How does this intentional intervention pertain to the strength of my will (beyond the obvious of “don’t plug the modem back in yet, you’ve still got three more hours to go”)?
 
I think it will help me to honour the commitments that I’ve made to myself, and I think it will help me to prioritize the things that I tell myself, reguarly, are The Things That Matter.
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.

[1] For those of you keeping track at home, that’s the maximum amount of time you can spend on one of the public computers at the public library on a given day.
 
[2] Which frequently means that I wind up missing real-time social stuff, too, because I end up missing the memo, so to speak.

2 responses to “I is for Intentions and Interventions – Pagan Blog Project 2013

  1. I would love to cut back on my Internet time, but I frequently run into your footnote number 2, in a variety of ways. I don’t know about big social events or birthday parties because no one thinks to call. People assume I know all of the info about their life they’ve posted on FB or LJ or WP. I just recently cut *one* social media site way down, and I’m already getting social shit for it.

    I went totally dark for 24 hours back in December and it was *lovely*. But my LDR partners hated it, and my friends hated it, and as soon as I plugged back in people were like OMG never do that again!

    I try. I sometimes decide to read a book instead of page through FB, or work on an altar rather than write a blog post. But I really think if I gave it up for good, the world would forget about me. Really.

    • I admit, I’ve mostly been avoiding facebook as a place to hang out for quite some time now. Primarily, I use it as an event-coordinating space. It would be nice if the interface were one where you didn’t have to constantly be opting out of spam because then email notifications would be relevant and helpful (IE – you could check your email on your phone, and get the FB social events stuff that way, while ignoring everything else).

      As for being forgotten… Dude, that’s a HUGE social fear of mine. I’m lucky that I live in a neighbourhood with a lot of friendly acquaintances (buckets o’ dykes, poets, and pagans, in other words) and so can (sometimes) find out what’s happening socially because I’ve run into someone at a coffee shop or whatever. Still, a LOT of it gets arranged online and, beyond that, I have friends who don’t live in my neighbourhood (or my continent, for that matter), and it’s nice to be able to keep up with them. 🙂

      So, yeah. Cutting down: yes. Cutting out: no. 🙂

Leave a Reply

