Yoghurt-Making – Part One

So.
I have (somewhere) a Yogomatic – the kind of single-tub yoghurt-making widget that was popular in the 70s (I think my parents got it as a wedding present, and now it is mine). It works okay.
But it doesn’t make much at a time and, not to put too fine a point on it, it also smells vaguely of mold all the time (which is my fault) in spite of frequent treatments with white vinegar. So I’m a tad hesitant to use it anymore.
 
As such, I’ve been poking around Ye Olde Internet trying to find some other options.
 
Yesterday, I tried using my slow cooker.
specifically, I heated up the milk on the stove, cooled it down by adding some more milk, stirred my yoghurt-starter into a measuring cup part-way filled with warm milk, and then mixed everything together in my slow cooker… which I set on “keep warm” and left to do its thing while I went and built a deck with my wife.
 
This morning, the yoghurt was well and truly COOKED (and slightly burnt, I think, going by the caramel colouring), and also rather curdled. I can definitely use this for cooking – I bet it will make amazing, fluffy pancakes for example – but it ain’t straight-up-eating yoghurt, that’s for sure. Right now, the mix of it is draining through a coffee filter so that it turns into some kind of quasi-paneer or something for the above-mentioned use in cooking.
 
 
Anyway, clearly this method didn’t work.
 
Part of me says “Maybe if you had it on Keep Warm” for less time?”
Part of me says “Maybe if you heated up the slow cooker and then just turned it off when you added the yoghurt mixture?”
 
… The latter of which, I think, is going to be my next attempt.
Wish me luck! 🙂
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.

4 responses to “Yoghurt-Making – Part One

  1. Pingback: Paneer! (Adventures in Cheese-Making Part Two) | Urban Meliad

  2. Oh!! We make slow cooker yogurt–what works for us is 1) use whole milk and add a half cup of powdered milk for a quart of milk 2) don’t scald the milk first! (seriously, we just pour the milk in straight) 3) don’t let it go to long–it really only takes a couple of hours, and 4) use the brand of yogurt you like to eat as your starter.

    The University of Nebraska has a troubleshooting site–http://digitalcommons.unl.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1032&context=foodsciefacpub if you haven’t seen it, it might be useful!

  3. Pingback: Yoghurt-Making – Part Two | Urban Meliad

Leave a Reply

