Full Moon – Lilac Moon Crests (Also a Lunar Eclipse)

I’m a day late with this post BUT there’s also a lunar eclipse tonight (or so I hear), so I think we’re still okay.
 
The lilacs are continuing to bloom like Very Blooming Things (we’ve had a couple of deep dips in temperature – down to the single digits for a few nights, a couple of times this past month, and I think that’s what’s helping them to last), while the cherries and service berries are visibly fruiting, the rhubarb is ripe and definitely getting picked, and the apple, crab apple, and choke cherry (and presumeably pear and plum…) trees are getting their fruit started as well.
It makes me hopeful and excited. πŸ™‚
 

Right now, I have two loaves of bread in the oven (they smell wonderful and should be ready in another little bit[1]), and I spent a couple of hours yesterday afternoon sewing myself a new skirt. I’m really happy about that, as I now have one gloriously long, functional (if rather cobbled together – I need to fix that up a bit) skirt, rather than two skirts that I wasn’t getting any use out of. I’m also heading out to a modeling gig in about an hour and a half, so there will be a little bit of further money coming in. (Thank You Ladies!)
 
However, my tomato starts appear to be getting sick, and my basil plant (in the same bucket) seems to have flat-out died. I’m thinking I will have to do some emergency transplanting to a (less pretty) bucket with better drainage if I want them to survive (and also if I want to not have thrown away $12 on plant starts that didn’t make it). Also, that modeling job is the first one I’ve had in over a month (that hasn’t been last-minute canceled, I mean), and that – while it’s a relief to have it – is a little worrying from a work-coming-in perspective. I know it’s “summer” and the classes that are my bread and butter are no-longer in session. But damn. It’s always a stressful time of year on that front, I don’t mind telling you.
 
BUT! Lilac Moon.
According to my hasty internet research, Eclipses (from an astrological perspective) tend to be catalysts for change and/or for bringing something out into the open.
If you happen to be doing a spell or ritual, you can harness the power of this eclipse to push things through and help them to have some good, lasting effects.
Lunar eclipses can also find us taking a good hard look at what we want, what we need, and what we feel we are lacking.
Boy-howdy has that ever been going on with me! My previous post talks about feeling like I’m losing sight of my “ideal day” due to feeling overwhelmed with stuff (literal, physical stuff as well as a couple of current living situations). I have to actively push myself to see The Good in what I have – the jelly and frozen greens that I’m already putting up, the home-made food, the completed(!) small projects and new (budding) skills. The hope, in spite of the cherries and service berries that are coming along, is hard to find when I’m inside my own four walls. 😦
 
Remember how at New Moon I said this:
 

This cycle is a time of balancing investment and careful planning (what to plant and when) with taking risks and trusting in the abundance of the land (gathering wild foods like dandelions, fiddleheads, garlic mustard, and ramps[1]).
What will you plant – literally and figuratively – in the hope of a good harvest? In what practices and projects are you willing to invest your time, energy, and attention in order to help them bear their desired fruit?
What will you risk, trusting the abundance of our Mother to provide?

 
Well, here we are and, while I’m doing okay on the “what I’ve planted” front (1000 words per day on the novel and making our daily bread from scratch, for example, are still both going well)… I do have to admit I’m feeling less-than-trusting (sorry) in a lot of ways.
Not Their fault by any stretch of the imagination.
I suspect at least part of this has to do with the cold, rainy weather of the past week combined with various house-hold stresses like rent coming due next week and our having been out of coffee for two days (oh, the horror. I know. I’m having chai instead, and it’s no hardship).
 
My day is a busy one, without a tonne of time for spell-crafting and ritual, but I think I’ll slather on a little come-to-me foot-balm before I head out into the wide world (and after I’ve had a shower to slough off any negative moping that’s still clinging to me) and tyr to put at least some of today’s lunar eclipse to work in my favour.
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.
 
 
[1] Edited to Add: Yup! They turned out quite nicely. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

