Indoor Container Gardening – Part The Umpteenth

Someone with a bucket and long-handled garden fork is out front raking through the Official Apartment Flower Beds – presumeably to uproot any weeds before they get a foothold[1]. I’m inside, having just done some (optimistic) transplanting and, er, learned a couple of unexpected things.
 
1) I really like growing plants. I like the hope they represent, and the very literal harvest that they might just manage to provide (provided that I don’t utterly mistreat them).
 
2) The giant pot that I thought had zero drainage? It’s just started drainage-ing all over my living room floor. So apparently drainage wasn’t the problem for my tomatoes. (Still not sure what was, though…)
 
3) There are uses for Ottawa’s city-focused, sports-centric, hyper-conservative newspaper. Who knew? πŸ™‚
 
 
I’ve also gone over to the dark side, so to speak, and tucked a fertilizer stick into the soil, in the hopes of feeding the plants a little better (all my compost goes to the city, which means my bins of soil have been getting depleted for the past couple of years. I’m hoping this will help feed the plants without burning their roots.
 
The wheely-tray upon-which my “non-draining” pot has rested, lo, these past eight months, is about a foot wide at the base. If I can find a foot-wide tray for my pot to drain into, then we’ll be goo and I can just keep doing what I’m doing (or not – we’ll see how this works).
 
What I have is:
 
1) A smaller pot (with drainage holes AND the bottom layered with big chunks of “river rock”, to facilitate not drowing the plants) planted with my chervil and lemon verbena plus a new (and very droopy) basil plant that, hopefully, will start perking up now that it’s in a bigger pot.
 
2) The smaller pot is nested inside the original Big Pot, on top of about 4″ of soil, with more soil packed around it. I’ve sprinkled chive seeds in the “surround soil” in the hopes that they sprout and grow (and thrive?) and give us some fresh chives of our own.
 
3) Less relevant to the gardening situation: A heap of tiny perenial peas – I think they might be Broom? – Stuff I used to eat at recess, anyway, which I’m now snagging off the hedges along Somerset Avenue, a few blocks east of the big cathedral. (Need to shell them, as they’re going into dinner tonight).
 
I’ve also got a rectangular “pot” (a plastic packing box) half-full of dirt that’s going to get re-homed to an outdoor “bed” (a stump with a bit of a flower-bed built over it), along with all this very damp newspaper I suddenly have lying around and, hopefully (even though it’s fairly late to be trying this), I will still manage to grow some squash (someway, somehow) this year. I can dream.
 
Wish me luck! πŸ™‚
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.
 
 
[1] Which would explain why my turnip greens and squash never came up. Bastards. :-\

Leave a Reply

