Crafty Crafty – Soap, Candles, Earrings, and Etsy

So I’m trying my hand at felted soap again.
I’m using a very well-cured bar of lemongrass-ginger soap (tallow-based, as it happens. I’ll use tallow, lard, and similar for home-use soaps, but not typically for soaps that I sell at craft shows. I find that it squicks people out a little bit) and have wrapped it in some of my roving – here I’m using silk-merino (the lighter peach/amber) and coridale (the darker orange/rust).
 

Lemongrass and ginger soap, wrapped in silk-merino and coridale roving.

Lemongrass and ginger soap, wrapped in silk-merino and coridale roving.



After wrapping it in the roving, I packed it into a nylon sockette and poured boiling water over the whole thing. Then I poked at it with the end of a wooden spoon, to get everything wet without burning myself.
After draining off the water, I started lathering the soap: working it between my hands, still inside the nylon sockette (this helps to keep the roving where I want it to be), trying to get the fibres to mat together, that is “to felt”.
 
Slightly lathered, and tucked inside a nylon.

Slightly lathered, and tucked inside a nylon.


 
After that, I took it out of the sockette. The wool fibres tried really hard to stick to the nylon. It was very velcro-y. I’m hoping this is a good sign.
Then I continued to lather the soap, trying to make sure that the corners stayed well-covered. (Pro-tip: start by wrapping your (rectangular) bar cross-wise, so that there’s a little extra padding on the corners – I didn’t do this here, and I think my soap may suffer for it).
 
Soap-Felting In Progress

Soap-Felting In Progress


 
Eventually, I decided that things were felty enough. I gave the soap a good squeeze and a good rinse, and set it out to dry. (The below photo is not its final drying spot. That’s was just for aesthetics. And, yes, those are totally canning jars in the back ground. what else? ;-))
 
Ready to dry. It's possible that I could have distributed the rust and amber rovings a little bit better - this is a bit patchy to my eyes.

Ready to dry.
It’s possible that I could have distributed the rust and amber rovings a little bit better – this is a bit patchy to my eyes.


 
It’s currently sitting on my dish rack, and will dry overnight. It should be ready to use in 24 hours.
While this soap was already scented[1], and my choice of roving was limited to what I currently have lying around the house, I would just as happily use these colours to wrap my Happy Home soap (vanilla, clove, and sweet orange – for protection, prosperity, happiness, lasting romance, great sex, and also to ward away jealouosy).
 
So that’s been my adventure (so far) in soap-felting. We’ll see if the felted cover works out better this time than last time.
 
In other news, I made a new pair of earrings a little while ago, and I’m finally getting around to posting them.
 
Industrial Ornamentation Juxtaposing the punk-industrial aesthetic of cotter pins with the delicate elegance of chandalierrings. Because that's how I roll.

Industrial Ornamentation
Juxtaposing the punk-industrial aesthetic of cotter pins with the delicate elegance of chandalierrings.
Because that’s how I roll.


 
I’m rather please with them.
 
Lastly, I’ve (finally) started officially selling my beeswax candles on Etsy. Right now, I’ve only got one listing – Happy Home ritual candles – but I’m looking forward to adding more[2] as well as offering custom infusions like the one I mailed out the other day.
 
Anyway. That’s my crafting news for the moment. Time to go check on how my soap is drying. 🙂
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.
 
 
[1] Lemongrass for strength, honesty and purification; Ginger for courage, confidence, and love. Also, both of them also work for great sex – handy in a marriage, eh? 😉
 
[2] Happy Home is an oil blend that I routinely use in soaps and body-butters for home-use, so I know it works. I’ve got plans for “Temple Temptress” (cocoa and vanilla absoluts plus cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and just a drop of ylang ylang) and “Easy Street” (basil, bay, cinnamon, and sweet orange) blends, as well as “May Queen” (ylang ylang, lavender, lemongrass, and vanilla) and “Lord of the Woods” (rosemary, juniper, fennel, and pine).

One response to “Crafty Crafty – Soap, Candles, Earrings, and Etsy

  1. Pingback: Further Adventures in Felting Soap! This Time In Pictures! :-D | Urban Meliad

Leave a Reply

