More on the Crafting Front (I made hair sticks!)

Well, if this isn’t a sign of Autumn, I don’t know what is.
I bought yarn today.
Hoy.
Two skeins of green (one “heather” and one veriagated with yellows and browns and similar) with-which – combined with various other greens of these ilks – I shall (finally) make my lovely wife a hat.
Hat! 😀
Good thing she’s out for the evening, yes? 😉

That said, I’ve just pulled my last (in theory) batch of apple butter out of the processing pot – I let it cook a little too long, I think, so it tastes a little molasses-y (not entirely a bad thing, and also possibly due to the black currant content, but worth noting either way). It’ll go well with/in buckwheat pancakes and as a rub on broiled things (like pork ribs, I’m thinking). we’ll see what else it works with, though. 🙂
 
I also made these:
 
Hairsticks 2
 
Admittedly the two spike-tipped ones in the foreground are rather more practical, while the three wire-wrapped, feather-tassled ones are somewhat more for show – the feathers wind up looking a little like weird pigtails if I use the sticks in a way that will actually hold my hair in place.
That said, combining them with, say, a bangle bracelet (or something similar) might work in terms of increasing functionality. 🙂
 
I made them out of bamboo 5.5mm double-pointed knitting needles and, yeah, made significant use of the hot-glue gun. We’ll see how that holds up. :-\
My wife donated the spikes (because she’s a sweetie), and the other three were decorated using aluminum wire, one necklace fastener (split between two needles), and the feathers from a pair of earrings that I made and then deconstructed. I like them better as hair ornaments. 🙂
 

This one is all wire-work, all the time.

This one is all wire-work, all the time.


 
the necklace fastener was an easy option, since it already had a loop to-which I could fasten the feathers.

the necklace fastener was an easy option, since it already had a loop to-which I could fasten the feathers.


 
And that’s what I did this afternoon. 🙂
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.

Leave a Reply

