Chocolate-Chip Coconut Brownies (Vegan and Gluten-Free!)

Hey, folks,
So if you’ve been hanging around this blog for very long, you know that I’m a great big dyke. Which, if you’re familiar with dykedom, means that I need to know how to make (or where to buy) vegan and gluten-free goodies for any event I want to host, even if I’m not vegan or celiac myself. And, yeah, as someone who likes to (and needs to) cook on the cheap? That can be a bit tricky, just because gluten-free flour is a lot more expensive than wheat flour. But you can still make it work.
Anyway.
I’m hosting one of Poly and Power Salons today and, in addition to cranberry-almond chocolate-chip cookies (yum!) that I made the other day… (I’ll post that recipe in a bit)… I’m also making a batch of brownies.
 
The recipe is loosely based on the “Decadent Brownies” recipe from The Garden of Vegan, but I went in a slightly different direction from there.
 
Here’s the recipe.

 
Chocolate-Chip Coconut Brownies (Vegan and Gluten-Free)
 
INGREDIENTS
 
1 C amaranth flour
½ C tapioca starch
¼ C light buckwheat flour
2/3 C cocoa
2/3 C granulated sugar
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
 
1½ C coconut milk
½ C sunflower oil
2 tbsp pomegranate molasses
 
½ C chocolate chips
 
¼ tsp cinnamon (for sprinkling)
 
Optional: ½ C coconut flakes[1]
 
 
DIRECTIONS
 
1) Preheat the oven to 350F
2) In a large (ish) bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients
3) Add the wet ingredients
4) mix with a fork until smooth
5) Add the chocolate chips (and optional coconut flakes) and mix in until well-distributed
6) Pour batter into a greased 8”x8” square cake pan
7) Dust the surface of the batter with cinnamon[2]
8) Bake for 30-40 minutes, until brownies pass the Fork Test
9) Allow to cool (or don’t), cut into cubes, and serve. YUM!
 
 
~*~
 
 
So that’s my brownie recipe. You could also add, like, diced dried pear or dried red currants if you wanted to up the fruit content. If you want a particularly rich brownie, you can add a couple of tablespoons of pear butter (or other fruit butter – but I think pear would be particularly nice combined with chocolate and coconut. It’s a bit like adding an egg) to the mix as well.
 
Give it a shot and let me know how it turns out. 🙂
 
Edited To Add: Here’s how it turned out for me:
The texture is very chewy. I put that down to the tapioca content. If you want something a bit more cake-like (easier to cut), you may with to use coconut flour in lieu of some of the tapioca starch. The pomogranate molasses are… not that noticeable. Although they may have been poorly mixed in, so we’ll see how the rest of the batch is. I may or may not wind up with bursts of fruity flavour at unexpected moments. We shall see. All that being said: They are super-tasty and wonderfully chocolatey, and I think that they’ll go over well. 🙂
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden
 
 
[1] I didn’t do this – I don’t have coconut flakes on hand – but I think it would be a nice addition. You can also make this just that little bit more coconutty by using coconut flour instead of buckwheat flour. (You may need to shift the balance of other flours in the recipe if you do this, FYI).
 
[2] I do this by putting the cinnamon on the palm of my hand and, basically, gently applauding over the surface of the batter. It lets the “dust clouds” of cinnamon settle on the batter without having everything land all in one place. I find it works, though YMMV of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

