G is for Glamour – Pagan Blog Project 2014

As a side-note (or pre-note?) before I begin, I’ve discovered (not to very much surprise, really) that I’ve done “G is for Glamour” every year that I’ve done the PBP. If you’re interested in seeing how my thoughts on this subjeect have evolved (or not), feel free to check out 2012 and 2013. Onwards!
 
So. I had a job interview last night.
As per Miss Sugar’s post, I’m trying to make glamour work for me – meaning I’m trying to use it to get people to see me the way I want to be seen.
 
I went in wearing something that was a mix of “classic business silhouette” and “funky yet tradition-valuing[1] creative type”. But there was – big surprise – rather more to it than that.
I wore “blood kiss” perfume – my favourite BPAL scent, and one that is my “I’m in charge, and you like it that way” go-to.
I wore the work of my hands – the pinstriped femme-tastic blouse that I taylored to fit my vaavoom body, and the arm-warmers (on the walk over, granted) that I knit from yarn that I spun on the spindle made by my wife.
I wore the teal lambskin pencil skirt and the MLO Garage Sale leather jacket that have decked me out for Leather events for ages (if you want more on that subject, see F is for Fetish).
I wore the sweater-blazer that belonged to (and may have been made by) my grandmother.
I wore earrings from one of my poly-family members. I wore the Lodolite pendant that my wife gave me, years ago, that is supposed to both enhance communication skills and help to manifest one’s desires (powerful stuff, that).
 
Yes, I was working glamoury in the traditional sense of making people see what you want them to see. But I was also spelling myself. I didn’t walk into that interview alone. I walked in carrying a posse on my skin. Andd that’s magic, too. 🙂
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.
 
 
[1] “Tradition Valuing” because the job is with an arts organization that understands its form as one that has a long and multi-limbed history and pre-history. Being able to show (and speak to) a valuing of ancient arts with long histories will not have hurt me on that score.

Leave a Reply

