Liebster Award for Me! :-)

So, I have been given a Liebster Award by Eliza over at Hedged Paths. Apparently she discovered Urban Meliad via the Pagan Blog Project, so YAY. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m pretty sure this is the first time a blog of mine has won an awrad, so, hey, that’s really awesome, and thank you very much. ๐Ÿ˜€
 
Part of the Liebster Awared dealio is that I answer eleven questions posed by the presenter, so here we go:
 
 
(1) Why did you start your blog?
I started this blog because I had started exploring a lot of gardening and environmentalism and preserving and poking at how that related to my cosmology, none of which really fit with my other blog, Syrens, even though the subjects of the two are increasingly intertwined in my day-to-day life. I wanted a place to put my Pagan ruminations and gardening/foraging/preserving natterage so that people who wanted to read about kink and feminist politics could do so without having to wade through post after post of tarot readings and pickle recipes, while people who wanted to read about magical workings and the ethics of eating could read about it without having to elbow their way past petitions and chattering about Leather Culture and knowledge-sharing.
 
 
(2) Are you open about your witchy ways or do you keep this part of your life quiet?
I am. I’m fairly dreadful at being closetted about things for very long – had enough of that by the time I was 28 – so I tend to try to work things so that I don’t have to be. It doesn’t always work, I grant you, but usually it works out pretty well. ๐Ÿ™‚
 
 
(3) Pick a place youโ€™d love to visit but wouldnโ€™t want to live.
I feel a bit weird about this question because I haven’t travelled much. So there are places I’d like to visit – like British Columbia or Wales – that I don’t expect to want to live… but I could be wrong, too. You never know.
 
 
(4) Witches in popular culture, choose a character to love or loathe and why.
Willow is kind of the obvious one. She’s the “right age”, if you will, and a bi-dyke, and big geek. So we have a fair bit (superficially) in common. But I can also talk about Aunt Frances, from the movie version of Practical Magic, who loved fiercely and and said that blending in was for cowards, and who was on the planning committee for the annual Summer Solstice Gathering and who, like her sister and Granny Weatherwax (there’s another one), knew that “right” is not always the same as “nice”, and was brave enough to enforce that reality – something I’m terribly hard-pressed to make myself actually do; or Tiffany Aching – both the determined, if slightly stuck-up, child she was, and the well-rounded, responsible, joyful and loving adult she became – and the various witches who teach her how to Witch – the magic and knowing when to use it and when not to, but also the compassion and the way to be a decent human being in situations where you are quite frequently the most educated and, occasionally, the most intelligent person involved.
 
 
(5) What are the three things you always have in your fridge?
Milk
Miscelaneous Root Vegetables
Home Preserves
 
You could also say “leftovers”, though I’d like to have fewer of those than I do.
 
 
(6) Tell me about a time you were speechless.
When my then-girlfriend proposed to me. I mean, I said Yes, clearly. But for a good hour after the fact I was sitting in the front seat of the car feeling a bit stunned. I think my mouth was hanging open for at least a little bit of that time, too.
 
 
(7) Which holiday do you go all out for?
Winter Solstice. It’s our wedding anniversary, which only adds to it, but it means a big shin-dig and an ancestor plate and decorating and a lot of food… And it’s one that my non-Pagan relatives can wrap their heads around without feeling too weird about it, which doesn’t hurt, I don’t mind telling you.
 
 
(8) Are you a good witch or a bad witch?
Fuck you.
Or, alternatively:
How are you defining “good” and “bad” in this situation? Is it a reference to magical skill-level? Frequency of devotional activities? Willingness to make painful things happen to other people (and on who’s behalf? And why? And how does that relate to “good” or “bad”)? Waht I’m saying is that this is a very nebulous question, and I’m not answering it unless the terms are better-defines, and maybe not even then.
 
 
(9) Describe something that you would not comprise on.
My wife once asked me – while expressing surprise at the fact that I had been a “picky eater” as a child – whether or not there actually was anything that I wouldn’t eat. And what I’d answered basically boiled down to “Stuff that’s so rotten that it can’t be salvaged” and… that was pretty much it. There are things I don’t particularly enjoy, and things that I would prefer, and things that I would strongly rather avoid. But I’ve found that, if one is willing to at least allow the possibility of bending, of being flexible, then one is far more able to change one’s mind as circumstances change around one. That’s important. It’s not something I would want to give up.
 
 
(10) Would you rather have the Pagan Blog Project go ABCD or are you liking the AABB format?
The “AABB” format works fine, I think, but it would be interesting to see what people came up with for, say, “B” if it occurred in August rather than on the eve of Imbolg, as the second “B” so often does. If the PBP went through two complete cycles of the alphabet one right after the other, it might result in some interesting posts being made. ๐Ÿ™‚
 
 
(11) Do you plan out your blog posts or โ€œwing itโ€ each week?
Hmmmmm… A little bit of both, I think. I must admit that I’m verybehind on my PBP posts right now. I am stll on my second “I” post for 2014, and I think the actual calendar is hoving around the K/L mark. :-\ Regardless, sometimes I have something planned, and go with it, and other times I have something planned and ignore it all-together in favour of something that is more personally relevant at the time, provided I can make the letters work. Sometimes I just pick a topic on the fly because there’s something happening at the time that will work with that week’s prompt, so why not go with it. It varies. That’s how it goes. ๐Ÿ™‚
 
 
Thank you for the award. ๐Ÿ™‚
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden. ๐Ÿ™‚

2 responses to “Liebster Award for Me! :-)

  1. You are welcome! Willow would have been my choice as well. I did not mean to hit a nerve with my Wizard of Oz question. If presented to me I would have answered that I struggle to focus only positive energy and stay current with my rituals. I appreciate you sharing.

    • Not to worry about the Wizard of Oz thing. Remarkably, I didn’t realize it was a Wizard Of Oz reference, and instead went straight to Idiot Kids in High School (or, in my case, early university) asking that question without really thinking about what the words could actually mean.

Leave a Reply

