Eat from the Larder Challenge 2015 – RECIPE!

Hey. So week four of the Eat From the Larder Challenge is… going. That’s what I’ve got, and I’ll leave the rest for Sunday’s weekly wrap-up post.
My wife and I picked up our sweetie yesterday night at the train station, and I promised I’d make sure there was food on hand because, hey, a five-hour train ride (that got delayed, and was even longer) is no picnic and protein + blood sugar tends to make everything better.
But, of course, this is the month of No Grocery Buying, so I had to take a look at what I actually had available which… wasn’t much.
I mean, yes, I have tonnes of food (still). But our young lady has allergies that mean (a) no cheese, and (b) no hot OR sweet peppers. And the bread I’d originally thought of using had been mostly eaten for breakfast that morning (and the other loaf was still half-frozen in the fridge, where it was thawing). SO. What is a poly punk-domestic to do?
 
What I did was (a) make whole-wheat soda bread dough, (b) make a really awesome tuna salad (see below – it’s a recipe that I modified, but heaven only knows which website I found it on. Something on a wordpress site, conveniently, that I found after googling “tuna and fruit recipe” or similar), and (c) combine the two into something like a Cornish Pastie crossed with a Samosa.
I’m happy to report that it worked! 😀
 
The recipe for the bread dough is, basically, the Stratford Hall Biscuits recipe from Laurel’s Kitchen, so I’m not going to reproduce that here. The filling, however, is as follows:
 
~*~
 
Curried Tuna Salad with Apples
nbsp;
1 (larger-size, not the kind with the peel-off tops) tin of unseasoned, water-packed tuna, drained
1 smallish cortland apple, cored and diced
1/4 C diced onion
1/4 C dried cranberries
3 tbsp mayonaise
1 tbsp cider vinegar
2-3 tsp curry powder
2 tsp nutritional yeast
1-2 tsp sesame oil
1-2 tsp tamari
1 tsp grainy mustard (iirc)
1 tsp dried cilantro
 
 
Mash everything together in a bowl (I used a fork for this).
Spoon onto thinly-rolled-out squares of dough (each square should take 2-3 heaping soup-spoonfuls, fyi).
Fold/gather the dough around the filling and pinch it shut. The resulting package should look vaguely like a dim-sum bun, honestly, but ymmv.
Bake at 425F for 12-15 minutes (until the bread is golden-brown and smells fully cooked).
Makes about four buns.
 
~*~
 
 
You could use this tuna salad recipe on a cold sandwich, or mix it wish pasta (or quinoa, or couscous, or rice…) for a more filling summer (or winter) caserole.
You could likewise make these packets and fill them with:
Spicy potatoes, greens, cooked lentils, and some kind of coconut/peanut sauce
Steak-onion-kidney-mushroom stew
Hummus, jarred tomatoes, frozen (diced & roasted) eggplant, and dried peaches or apricots
Pulled pork & braised root veggies
Leftover steamed squash (or sweet potatoes), dried cranberries, sauteed mushrooms, and crumbled walnuts (a little wild rice wouldn’t go amiss, either)
…Basically, you want something mooshy & space-taking (whether that’s carbs or protein or both, doesn’t matter), something protein-tastic, something bright (er, meaning acidic), and something to bind everything together and provide a little bit of moisture during the cooking process (but not too much).
 
So. That’s my fancy-schmancy, “look upon my awesome creation” recipe for this year’s Eat From the Larder Challenge. We’ll see if I come up with any others from here on in. 🙂
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad, the Birch Maiden.

Leave a Reply

