Full Moon – Harvest Moon Crests (Autumn Equinox, Super Moon)

So, about two weeks ago, I was sick as a dog and making a point of watching that big, beautiful Super Moon come up over the city anyway.
It was my first time out of the house for something like 48 hours, which is no big deal in my neck of the woods, but which bears mentioning since less than a day earlier, I was barely able to get out of bed without getting winded.
My wife had a great time at the Metal Show, by the way, and brought me home an AMAZING chest cold, since you were wondering.
Yeah. She was sick, too. It’s been a great week chez House Of Goat, let me tell you.
 
Anyway. That’s a big part of why I’m only getting around to posting (and writing, um…) my Lunar Cycles post for this paticular cycle now. Sorry about that, folks.
 
I was recently gifted a tarot deck (the “Daughters of the Moon” deck which… is a product of its time, and which kind of fucks with the lay-out of the standard tarot, changing up what the cards tend to mean… This is a bother, since I tend to read with my Zen Tarot deck and use various Little Books to get different perspectives on things. It helps if they’re all interpreting from the same general angle… although maybe that’s weird and silly of me). Regardless, I’m thrilled to have this and really touched that she thought of me when it was time to give her deck a new home.
 
This, of course, has me thinking about “inheritance” in the community sense, and how we pass things along to each other. I have a skirt I want to pass on to someone specific. People keep furniture “in the family” frequently, and we’ve inherited book shelves, a table and chairs, a rocking chair, and a bunch of other stuff from various friends who needed to make space in their own places. Some day, it would be nice to be able to do the same for other folks, not because we’re in money-trouble and need to downsize back to a one-bedroom apartment or something, but because we’re combining houses with a third partner (for example) and are able to pass things along from a place of abundance and generocity. That would be really nice.
 
Thinking About:
Acts of love and pleasure: How creating garments for people I care about, mending their clothes, cooking food that they enjoy and can eat, how these things are acts of pleasure – I like cooking, knitting, spinning, sewing; and I feel accomplished and nurturing and clever when I can solve a problem or have Just The Right Thing when someone needs it – and they’re acts of love, too, because I don’t necessarily do them for people I don’t care for[1].
 
By the time of this posting, Unholy Harvest has come and gone for another year. I’m really touched and happy that I got to do a couple of religiously significant body-mods for people, and I’m also really proud of myself for getting my shawl done (or done enough) in time to wear it for the whole weekend. Not bad for a year-and-a-half worth of work. 🙂
 
The wheel turns on, as it always does, and I’m back home in time for frost warnings and the heavy need to get the last of my canning done (I may or may not be able to rescue another harvest of cherry tomatoes, for example, but there’s still lots of chard and kale to freeze, plus I do want to make a good-sized batch of pumpkin butter, so… Onwards!)
 
 
TTFN,
Meliad the Birch Maiden.
 
 
[1] That said, in the interests of growing up to be a Community Auntie, I am pushing myself to do this for people I don’t necessarily like and/or people I don’t know (yet) but who need a hand. It’s important. My lovely wife and I are agreed that we need to have an Open Door in this regard.

Leave a Reply

